Bonn declaration of open-mindedness and tolerance: Science region of Bonn stands up for core social values

  • 2015•10•27     Bonn

    Universities, research institutions, scientific organizations and regional authorities in the Science Region of Bonn have now all joined the current debate on xenophobia in Germany with a common appeal. The presidents, deans, directors, mayor and district administrator are jointly taking a stance with the “Bonn Declaration of Open-Mindedness and Tolerance.” They are calling for solidarity from all the members of their institutions and all of the region’s residents.

    The Rector of the University of Bonn, Prof. Dr. Michael Hoch, provided the impetus for this joint declaration: “Ultimately, science depends on thinking across boundaries. We stand for an open, unprejudiced exchange of ideas and opinions – that is why the current debate affects us all. I am happy and proud that we in the Science Region of Bonn are speaking out in unison to support open-mindedness and tolerance.”

    The wording of the “Bonn Declaration”

    Science is fundamentally border-crossing and international. It relies on exchanging ideas and on encounters between people across all national and cultural boundaries.

    The Science Region and UN city of Bonn is a place where Germany and its international partners meet at every level. The world comes together in Bonn to discuss global challenges. The Rhineland is a core European region that has always supported a lively exchange between peoples and cultures. In an atmosphere of peaceful coexistence, strangers quickly become friends – a philosophy that continues to shape our region. The Science Region of Bonn stands for freedom, mutual respect and a culture of hospitality, both in our own country and internationally.

    Today we stand up to those who question these core values of our free social order. We invite all the members of our institutions and all of Bonn’s residents to join us.

    The signers:

    • Prof. Dr. Michael Hoch, Rector of the University of Bonn
    • Ashok-Alexander Sridharan, Mayor of the City of Bonn
    • Sebastian Schuster, District Administrator of the Rhine-Sieg District
    • Prof. Dr. Hartmut Ihne, President of Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences
    • Prof. Dr. Marcelo da Veiga, Rector of Alanus University of Arts and Social Sciences
    • Prof. Dr. Jakob Rhyner, Vice-Rector in Europe, United Nations University
    • Prof. Dr. Peter Thuy, Rector of International University of Applied Sciences Bad Honnef • Bonn
    • Prof. Dr. Ulrich Benjamin Kaupp, Director of the Center of Advanced European Studies and Research (caesar)
    • Professor Dr. Peter Strohschneider, President of DFG Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
    • Prof. Dr. Pierluigi Nicotera, Director of DZNE Deutsches Zentrum für Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen
    • Prof. Dr. Bosselmann-Cyran, President of Koblenz University of Applied Sciences
    • Professor Dr. Helmut Schwarz, President of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
    • Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel, President of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)